Supreme Court Rules: No Immunity for MLAs, MPs in Bribery Cases; PM Modi Applauds Verdict

The Supreme Court, led by Chief Justice of India D.Y. Chandrachud, delivered a historic verdict on Monday, ruling that Parliamentarians and state legislators are not immune from prosecution in bribery cases. The seven-judge constitution bench held that MPs and MLAs can be prosecuted under the Prevention of Corruption Act if they receive monetary benefits for their votes or speeches in Parliament or state legislature. Rejecting any claim to immunity, the bench emphasized that such privileges unrelated to legislative functions would create unchecked exemptions from the law. The ruling also extends to elections for the Rajya Sabha, President, and Vice President. This marks the second time the Supreme Court has considered the issue since 1998, when it previously ruled MPs were immune from bribery charges. Prime Minister Narendra Modi welcomed the verdict, stating it ensures clean politics and strengthens public trust in the system.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours