Election Commissioner Arun Goel Quits Ahead of Lok Sabha Polls

Election Commissioner Arun Goel resigned just before the expected announcement of the 2024 Lok Sabha election schedule. His tenure, supposed to last until December 2027, ended abruptly, accepted by President Droupadi Murmu. Goel, a retired bureaucrat and 1985-batch IAS officer of the Punjab cadre, joined the Election Commission in November 2022. The reason for his resignation remains unknown. With Anup Pandey’s retirement in February and Goel’s resignation, the three-member EC panel now only has Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, leaving the commission with just one member.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours