Sonia Gandhi and Ashwini Vaishnaw Among 14 Sworn in as Rajya Sabha Members

Former Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, among others, took oath as members of the Rajya Sabha in the new Parliament house building, administered by Vice-President and Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar. Sonia Gandhi, representing Rajasthan, and Vaishnaw, from Odisha, were joined by Congress leader Ajay Maken, BJP leaders R P N Singh and Samik Bhattacharya, and YSRCP leaders Gola Babu Rao, Medha Raghunath Reddy, and Yerum Venkat Subba Reddy from Andhra Pradesh. Sonia Gandhi’s first tenure in the Rajya Sabha was attended by Leader of the House Piyush Goyal, Leader of Opposition Mallikarjun Kharge, and her daughter Priyanka Gandhi Vadra. The event also saw the presence of Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh and secretary general P C Mody, with all members later posing for a group photograph.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours