Rahul Gandhi Retains Wayanad Amidst Uncertainty Over Dual Constituencies

The Wayanad Lok Sabha seat, secured by Rahul Gandhi for the second consecutive term, encompasses three assembly constituencies each in Wayanad and Malappuram districts, along with one in Kozhikode district. Gandhi won by over 3.64 lakh votes against Annie Raja of the CPI. While he triumphed in Rae Bareli as well, uncertainty looms over which constituency he’ll retain. Despite claims by the BJP and Left, the UDF remained confident in Gandhi’s victory. The constituency, known for its lush hills and diverse demographics, faces challenges in agriculture, tribal welfare, and environmental conservation. Despite criticism, the UDF highlighted Gandhi’s impact, while the BJP and Left criticized his absence and failure to address local issues. The 2019 elections saw a voter turnout of 80.31%, dropping to 73.57% this time. The campaign witnessed debates over issues like renaming Sulthan Bathery and the absence of certain political symbols during Gandhi’s roadshow, reflecting the nuanced political landscape of Wayanad.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours